Current Students:
Log In
(MIT Certificates Required)

Information

Course Description

6.01 explores the application of key engineering principles, such as abstraction and modularity, in the design of systems that operate in the natural world. Topics include measuring and modeling system behaviors; assessing errors in sensors and effectors; specifying tasks; designing solutions based on analytical and computational models; planning, executing, and evaluating experimental tests of performance; refining models and designs.

Prerequisites: None
Corequisite: 8.02
Units: 2-4-6
Lectures: Monday 9:30-11:00, room 26-100

Section Schedule

SectionSoftware Lab Design LabInstructor(s)TAs
1Mon 11:00am - 12:30pmWed 9:30am - 12:30pm Leslie Adam G, Alicia, Dawit
2Mon 2:00pm - 3:30pmWed 2:00pm - 5:00pm Duane, Jing Max, Priyanka, Jose, Logan
3Tue 11:00am - 12:30pmThu 9:30am - 12:30pm Berthold Neerja, Lars, Abby, Dawit
4Tue 2:00pm - 3:30pmThu 2:00pm - 5:00pm Sanjoy, Antonio Kristin, Adam G, Ceres, Logan
5Mon 12:30pm - 2:00pmFri 9:30am - 12:30pm Tomas Max, Abby
6Mon 3:30pm - 5:00pmFri 2:00pm - 5:00pm Adam H, Dirk Rodrigo G, Michael, Geronimo, Jose
7Mon 7:00pm - 8:30pmWed 7:00pm - 10:00pm Joe Jeremy, Rodrigo L, Daniel, Priyanka

Lab sections will all take place in Room 34-501. Attendance at the design lab sessions is mandatory. If you are unable to attend due to illness or other personal difficulties, please see a dean in Student Support Services and ask them to contact your lab instructor

Office Hours

All office hours will be in 34-501. We will hold office hours at the following times:
  • Sunday: 4:00PM to 10:00PM
  • Tuesday: 7:00PM to 10:00PM
  • Thursday: 7:00PM to 10:00PM

Staff

Name Role Office Email (@mit.edu) Picture
Adam Hartz Lecturer 36-881 hartz Adam H
Duane Boning Instructor 39-415 boning Duane
Dirk Englund Instructor 36-591 englund Dirk
Berthold Horn Instructor 32-D434 bkph Berthold
Leslie Kaelbling Instructor 32-G486 lpk Leslie
Jing Kong Instructor 13-3065 jingkong Jing
Tomás Lozano-Pérez Instructor 32-G492 tlp Tomas
Sanjoy Mahajan Instructor 34-501 sanjoy Sanjoy
Joe Steinmeyer Instructor 36-847 jodalyst Joe
Antonio Torralba Instructor 32-D462 torralba Antonio
Neerja Aggarwal T.A. 34-501 neerja Neerja
Kristin Asmus T.A. 34-501 kasmus Kristin
Max Dunitz T.A. 34-501 mdunitz Max
Adam Gleitman T.A. 34-501 amgleit Adam G
Rodrigo Gomes T.A. 34-501 rgomes Rodrigo G
Michael Hernandez T.A. 34-501 mhernand Michael
Lars Johnson T.A. 34-501 larsj Lars
Jeremy Kaplan T.A. 34-501 jdkaplan Jeremy
Abigail Klein T.A. 34-501 kleinab Abby
Ceres Lee T.A. 34-501 cereslee Ceres
Rodrigo Lopez Uricoechea T.A. 34-501 rlopezu Rodrigo L
Daniel Martelly T.A. 34-501 martelly Daniel
Geronimo Mirano T.A. 34-501 geronm Geronimo
Priyanka Raina T.A. 34-501 praina Priyanka
José Cruz Serralles T.A. 34-501 jecs Jose
Alicia Singham-Goodwin T.A. 34-501 asingham Alicia
Logan Williams T.A. 34-501 loganw Logan
Dawit Zewdie T.A. 34-501 dawithz Dawit